Skip to content

Our Southall Community Awards 2022 evening took place on Saturday 3rd December at Featherstone High School.

This is the second annual awards evening we have arranged and it was packed to the rafters as we had a number of individuals, teams and groups who had been nominated for community awards.The evening began with some opening remarks by Virendra Sharma MP and Councillor Jasbir Anand.There were a number of excellent awards winners including:Havelock Primary School pupilsSouthall Black SistersHeston Lions ClubBhushan Kumar SharmaCllr John MartinAsian Community ConcernSouthall Park Run teamHavelock ARP teamDICE NHS teamand many other worthy awards winners.

The evening was excellently hosted by Kamaljeet Sembhi and awards were handed out by Virendra Sharma MP, Evelyn Gloyn, Monica Jaswal, Cllr Jasbir Anand and Harsev Bains, the Chair of SCA.We had a special legacy award to recognise the work and contribution of Ajit Singh Rai in Southall over many decades.

It was amazing that Mr Rai‘s family including his wife were able to attend the event and collect his award.The evening finished with a raffle draw and five holidays had kindly been donated as the prizes by Mehak Travel Club.We had some lovely food that was enjoyed by all at the close of the evening and served with great organisation by our amazing colleagues from the Voice of Women organisation. Many thanks to Surinder Kenth and all the hard-working volunteers.

The awards evening was another great success made possible by the hard work of SCA staff, trustees and supporters. We already look forward to next years event!